Unemployment

image

I’m sure nearly every single one of us has been unemployed at some point and have experienced the ups and downs of the process. After only, luckily, a couple of months I’ve not signed a contract, but I have been offered a position working for a children’s charity. I couldn’t be happier because it is the job I have been envisioning myself in for a very long time and the type of job I hoped to get when I gave up the chance to teach in the West Bank.

I think my hard work has paid off after taking hours to complete applications, trawling job sites for days on end, and the nerves of an interview…it is pretty exhausting! Anyway, this is a lighthearted poem based on all of that:

the job search train
this train has taken me
round and round the garden
and over the hills and dar away,
sock dancing in the kitchen
and celebrating with the cat.
stones dropping on toes
and money landing in the bank,
carrots dangled
then eaten by the farmer;
whips cracked but not hard enough.

© LE Purse

10th September 2014

Leave a comment