International Women’s Day

purple-crayon-drawn-female-gender-sign-or-symbol

This weekend was one of the biggest advocacy weekends across the globe: International Women’s Day. It was a day to celebrate, advocate, and shout about women the world over. 

I wandered down to London’s Southbank and just enjoyed the sunshine on my face and an open book. I thought about all the things I’d learned recently about modern feminism and how they’d affected my views on the world: the objectification of women and their bodies; the differences between the sexes from early ages; what just one more year of primary education could mean to a girl in a developing country.

Now, I am an incredibly fortunate young woman because I have not only been given all of the support I could ever want to achieve my dreams but I have always had a strong female role model in my mother. This weekend made me realise, in honestly the least patronising way possible, that other girls deserve that.

I was born into the right family, in the right country. Some women, ones I’ve met, aren’t quite as lucky. It made me realise that I cannot sit around and let this pass me by any more. I have no idea if, one day, the poetry I write will ever be published but I do know that I could help to give others a choice in their lives; after all, choices (in my opinion) are what make us fortunate.

So, this is in honor of all of the girls who aren’t given the choice to put down their pen and stop learning:

It’s the littlest of things

A book yearning to filled,

blank pages crying out

to feel the nib roll

left to right

right to left.

A mind yearning to be filled

blank spaces crying out

to drink in knowledge

and radiate pride.

A girl yearning for the life she wants,

not the life expected of her.

Give her the knowledge and the nib,

for she will write.

© LE Purse

March 9th 2014

About Lauren Purse

Poet (n) a person possessing special powers of imagination or expression. View all posts by Lauren Purse

Leave a Reply

don of all trades

Master of none...

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

ZarasWorld

Look Within Yourself

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

lewisperrott

Ars longa, vita brevis

Hannah Gale

Fashion, beauty & lifestyle blog

Infinitefreetime.com

The blog of Luther M. Siler, Teacher/ Word-maker-dude/ Wanker for hire

The Virtual Politician

The Independent & Engaging Political Web Personality

Roxi St. Clair

Because writing is cheaper than therapy.

I Don't Call Myself a Poet

Interviews with Contemporary Poets Living & Working in Britain

So that just happened.

Sometimes I can't believe my luck. And I'm not talking about the good kind.

Read Between the Minds

Poetry, Photography and Random Thoughts of Life

Life From A Park Bench

And when I close my eyes, I feel like a page, with a crossed out name – Ryan Adams

Lyrical Anarchy

Poetic Justice!

SmallTownBigCincy

Small adventures across the little big Queen City... And beyond!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

